One butt last breath (the penultimate cigarette pun).

I’m about to quit smoking, which is hard because I find breathing smoke to be quite exhilarating, and I’m going to miss it dearly.
For the first 28 days, though… I think I’m going to need a “hobby”.

I don’t really do hobbies.

If there is to be a war of words, I intend to win it.
& know that if you have no breath to draw with, I’m with you in spirit.

I’ll never be a spoken word poet.
My “rhythm”, too easily interrupted.

It falls apart; at times I fall with it.
It doesn’t matter what I said,
Only that you hear it.


Suzanne Dunham


‘I know that’s a secret, for it’s whispered everywhere.’ — William Congreve

Leave a Reply

